A little taste of Thailand with Westcoast Thai Massage.

My first full “day-off” was approaching very slowly this past weekend. I will admit that the moments that have filled my schedule these past 5 weeks have been incredible, everything from my new lifestyle/torture plan with Endorphin Junkies to my new gig at the lululemon lab has been more rewarding (and kept me more busy) than I ever expected! So when Sunday approached this week my stiff body, busy mind and saturated soul sat me down and gave me a little feedback: do something for you. Just before I could even start brainstorming my good friend Barb called and made me an offer I couldn’t refuse.

I should preface this story with a little background: Barb and I had an instant connection after my move to Vancouver, we are both uber passionate about fitness and have long conversations about the importance of balance, stress relief and different forms of bodywork. We also both got our starts in alternative forms of healing in Toronto, she became interested in Thai Massage after working as a personal trainer and earning a degree in physical health & education at University of Toronto. Since moving to Vancouver she has set up a promising practice in Yaletown destined to propel her into greatness. She is quickly being recognized as a leader in Vancouver’s Thai Massage community with a growing list of addicts (me included).

This Sunday in particular Barb guided me through a relaxing one-hour session that some how manifested a new energy that still hasn’t worn off. She used a combination of deep stretching, rhythmic pressure and massage to release deep seeded tension and stiffness in my hips, back and neck. I can honestly say the results were immediate, and most importantly I can finally say that my muscles feel just as at ease as my soul does at this point in my very blessed life. Thanks Barb….and to all my friends reading this, give yourself  a little taste of Thailand this Christmas…take an hour and surrender.

You can contact Barb through her website http://westcoastthaimassage.com/, check out her new studio space  Groundwork Athletics (Granville and Georgia).


Leave a Reply

