Visualize your eventual demise. It can have an amazing effect on how you live for the moment.. Day 17 & 18.

Rewriting my goals took a little (a lot) longer than I thought it would. If you have been following me on Twitter you have probably noticed that I am at an interesting transition point in my life, I am changing roles within lululemon and taking my creativity over to the lululemon lab. But before starting that venture, I am doing something that has been on my to-do list for way to long: Yin Yoga teacher training with the infamous Bernie Clark. For those of you who aren’t familiar with Yin yoga, I suggest you either go take a class (with someone you love, I say this because Yin was something gifted to my life from a friend and have been a full on addict ever since). For the sake of this post…in a nutshell: Yin is balance. My life is so full of yang from long boarding to Ashtanga, that without this beautiful outlet I probably wouldn’t be walking as comfortably as I am today. I won’t go into the history of Yin (http://yinyoga.com/), but what I will tell you is the after effects. After finishing a class expect that feeling like you just ate a box of the best chocolates in the world (minus the calories). If that isn’t enough I should tell you that it has also dramatically increased my  flexibility, relieved chronic pain in my back and hips and most importantly it has been proven to slow down many of the effects that come with aging (osteoporosis, stiffness, range of motion etc). Before Yin (silently) walked into my life, I was losing sleep because of tightness in my hip flexors and IT bands, (at the time) I was just turning 25 and feeling 55…years of playing through injuries, living an ‘extreme’ life (which I still do) had created a myriad of scar tissue and chronic pain that prevented me from being as active as I wanted to be. After my first Yin class it felt like a light went off: if I wanted to be active in my life, I had to incorporate Yin. You’re probably wondering how I am going to tie in this manifesto, well (to be honest) I found this topic a little intimidating and a little hard on the soul. No one wants to think about their last day(s) on earth, but after thinking of this point I decided that I would prefer to die of old age and not any earlier and definitely not from a disease. This thought put the wheels in motion and got me thinking of how badly I want to be active for my entire life. Being outside, playing sports and living fully requires a strong healthy body for life. So… Yin is something I am committing to, not just for the last ten or so days of this challenge, but for my life and for the lives of those around me. From this teacher training I intend to start a business called Yin-to-go, which will be private Yin classes wherever you want them to be. From the beach to your home and even in the workplace, this will be a service to get you (and your body) on track to continuing (or starting) to live your best life. I am looking forward to paying this forward and getting everyone to their sweet spot in life.

Up Next…Write down your short and long-term GOALS four times a year. Two personal, two business and two health goals for the next 1, 5 and 10 years. Goal setting triggers your subconscious computer (for real this time)

Follow me on Twitter @olimaughan!

Leave a Reply

