Stress is related to 99% of all illness. Day 11 & 12

“With the past, I have nothing to do; nor with the future. I live now.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

During the week it’s easy to get caught up in endless lists, errands and distractions, so Jake and I decided that this weekend’s focus was quality time. We spent time together, reconnecting, talking and laughing. We enjoyed catching up with friends at the beach and returning to our beloved long boards for a cruise. I had the chance to stop in for a short shift at the lululemon lab, and got to spend some time being inspired by  some old (and new) friends. Through living this manifesto I have realized that often my agenda comes with a set of blinders and puts some friends and things (that are really important to me) on the back burner of my mind. Seeing these people are always a true reminder of the importance of balance and letting loose. Not working on projects or reading e-mail on my phone…not chipping away at the lists can often make me feel restless, overwhelmed and guilty. Learning to slowdown, long board near spanish banks, eat veggies on the beach and just have conversations where I am able to be present is something that is coming (slowly) into my life. Learning not to scroll the never-ending Rolodex of big ideas and to-do’s is challenging and a work in process. When I do connect with my ability to be present I have noticed food tastes better, I laugh more and for longer periods of time. I feel less of those moments where I am about the past and future. It forces me to just give in to experiencing life.

I feel grateful to have so many people in my life supporting me in getting what it really means to live…I look forward to experiencing the lessons and relationships formed from these guilt-free moments.

Up Next…The world is changing at such a rapid rate that waiting to implement changes will leave you 2 steps behind. DO IT NOW, DO IT NOW, DO IT NOW!

Follow me on Twitter@olimaughan or on Foursquare!

Leave a Reply

