lululemon athletica creates components for people to live longer, healthier and more fun lives. If we can produce products to keep people active and stress-free, we believe the world will become a much better place. Day 10.

I couldn’t think of a better way to celebrate day 10 of my challenge then to pay homage to the company I work for. I quit my job at Sheridan Nurseries last October to pursue a dream of working for a company that pushed me to go beyond mediocre. Since moving to Vancouver I have had the freedom to recreate myself into the person I always thought I could be. Through the support of my friends at Lululemon Sherway (in ON) and here at West 4th I uncovered my passion for writing, creating and being a powerful force in my own life and in the lives of others. I have learned to listen authentically, and recognize the difference between my voice and the voice inside my head (which strangely sounds like a mixture of me, my mother and what a troll doll would sound like if it could speak). More importantly I have learned to value myself, set goals and be open to possibility. I have had amazing conversations, attracted positive (and negative) events in my life and learned to grow from each of them. I was able to do all of this while looking extremely put together (cause you know I love the gear…who doesn’t?). To mark this day in the Manifesto challenge, one of my most favorite (and talented) lemon’s (photographer, artist and visionary Pat Young) asked me and my beautiful co-lemon Emily Taylor if we were interested in doing a photo-shoot for lululemon’s new printed remix hoodies (coming to a store near you!). Of course I jumped at the chance to work with two of my favorite people to celebrate the brand that has brought a ton of amazing, positive and creative spirits together.

The shoot took place down at the picturesque Jericho Beach at sunset and (as usual) Pat delivered and was able to capture the true essence of what lululemon stands for. He generously coached us through each moment, showing us some technical pointers on photography and modeling (of course years of watching America’s Next top model had prepared me for this moment but it was still nice to get a few tips). He also walked us through the story of what he was trying to capture in the photos, drawing a picture for both Emily and I to envision and work with. Needless to say, it was a fantastic evening filled with happiness, gratitude, and some fun pictures like the one you see here. It was all capped off with a beautiful sunset, goal coaching (thanks’ Pat) and more new friendships. Big shout out to Pat for making me feel like anything is possible, Em for being as beautiful on the inside as you are on the outside and Graham for inspiring me to make time to reach for my goals. It was another great evening and one I will never forget.

Up Next…Stress is related to 99% of all illness.

Follow me on Twitter@olimaughan or on Foursquare!

1 comment
  1. Pat said:

    Hey Oli, great post. Very inspiring. Thanks for the kind words. Set your sights high, and embrace each opportunity along the way.

    – P.

Leave a Reply

